Baltimore is getting ready to “Face Race” this Fall and it is about time!

I do not trust artists, activists or services providers who do not have a track record of addressing issues of race in their practice.  Race impacts everything I do. It impacts my decision to attend a theater performance on the east side of Baltimore. It influences my decision to involve myself in the myriad of activist movements in town.   I’m not the only one who thinks about race all of the time, am I?

How do we as artists, activists, funders, researchers and service providers keep the impact of race in the forefront of our practice?  I do not know.  Thankfully this fall, Facing Race 2012 is coming to Baltimore, November 15-17  to help us figure it out.  If you are anything like me, you are going to want to hit this event up.

Facing Race is a conference like no other – it is the largest national, multi-racial gathering of leaders, educators, journalists, artists, and activists on racial justice. Facing Race conference sessions will address topics such as 2012 election, economy, arts & culture, education reform, multiracial organizing, immigrant rights, and the development of racial justice leadership and training models. Workshops offer attendees a chance to develop hands-on strategies for positive social change.
Hope to see you there!
BA+JP

Leave a Reply

